ITMO University Saint Petersburg National Research University of Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics

A bridge between the best traditions in scientific research excellence and the future 

The Department of Optical Physics and Modern Natural Science (OPMNS) was founded in 2002. The first head of the the Department was Mikhail Naumovich Libenson, a well-known optical physicist who made a significant contribution to the fields of power optics and photophysics.

goi.jpg

During 2004-2006, the Department was headed by Alexander Ivanovich Stepanov, whose research areas were thermo-optical phenomena in solid-state lasers and the use of lasers in optoinformatics. The main tasks of the Department in those years were to read new courses of lectures on Optics and conduct experimental research. The Department did not have its own students at the time, but close ties to the laboratories of the S. I. Vavilov State Optical Institute made it possible to attract talented graduate and undergraduate students from other departments of ITMO University to carry relevant scientific research.

tem.jpgqd.jpg

In 2006, a research and educational center was created, consisting of the OPMNS Department and the Center for Information Optical Technologies (CIOT). Both divisions are headed by Anatoly Fedorov, an expert in the field of semiconductor optics, physics of quantum-size systems, and spectroscopy of semiconductor nanocrystals. In the same year began the development of the master's educational program "Optics of nanostructures", and the first group of students began to study in 2008. The peculiarity of the master's program is the individual approach to each student. In 2012, the Department and Aalto University developed another master's program, "Physics and technology of nanostructures". The first admission to the Bachelor's Degree of the Department took place in the summer of 2012. Besides, since 2011 the department has started to cooperate actively with the schools of St. Petersburg, conducting classes of Optics with students in the form of masterclasses and summer practice, as a way of motivating and attracting young people to scientific research.

Spie Europe.jpg 

Since 2006, more than 70 research projects have been carried out in the Department, in which all undergraduate and graduate students participate. Young researchers publish their results in Russian and international journals, participate in national and international conferences, and also take internships abroad. The Department's graduates are highly qualified specialists in the field of physics of nanostructures and functional optical materials, in demand in research and academic centers as well as in private and state companies, both in Russia and abroad.

PCNSPA_2016_582402.jpg

Университет ИТМО Санкт-Петербургский национальный исследовательский университет информационных технологий, механики и оптики

История кафедры

Кафедра «Оптической физики и современного естествознания» (ОФиСЕ) основана в 2002 году. Первым заведующим кафедрой был Михаил Наумович Либенсон – известный физик-оптик, внесший значительный вклад в силовую оптику и фотофизику.

goi.jpg

В 2004–2006 годах кафедру возглавлял Александр Иванович Степанов, областью научных исследований которого являлись термооптические явления в твердотельных лазерах и применение лазеров в оптоинформатике. Задачей кафедры в эти годы было чтение новых курсов лекций по оптике и проведение лабораторных и практических занятий. Кафедра не имела собственных студентов, однако, тесная связь с лабораториями Государственного оптического института (ГОИ) им. С.И. Вавилова позволяла привлекать способных аспирантов и студентов с других кафедр ИТМО к выполнению актуальных научных исследований.

tem.jpgqd.jpg

В 2006 году был создан научно-образовательный центр, состоящий из кафедры ОФиСЕ и "Центра информационных оптических технологий" (ЦИОТ). Оба подразделения возглавил Анатолий Валентинович Федоров – специалист в области оптики полупроводников, физики квантоворазмерных систем и спектроскопии полупроводниковых нанокристаллов. В этом же году началась разработка магистерской образовательной программы «Оптика наноструктур», по которой с 2008 года стала обучаться первая группа студентов. Особенность магистерской программы заключается в индивидуальном подходе к каждому студенту. В 2014 году кафедрой была разработана еще одна магистерская программа «Физика и технология наноструктур», которая реализуется совместно с Университетом Аалто (Хельсинки). А летом 2012 года состоялся первый прием абитуриентов в бакалавриат кафедры ОФиСЕ. Вместе с этим с 2011 года кафедра начала активно сотрудничать со школами Петербурга, проводя с учениками старших классов занятия по оптике в виде мастер-классов и летней практики, привлекая желающих к научной работе.

Spie Europe.jpg

С 2006 года на кафедре было проведено и продолжает выполняться более 70 научно-исследовательских работ, в которых участвуют все магистранты и аспиранты кафедры в качестве сотрудников ЦИОТ. Молодые люди публикуют научные результаты в российских и зарубежных журналах, докладывают их на отечественных и международных конференциях, а также проходят зарубежные стажировки. Выпускники кафедры – высококвалифицированные специалисты в области физики наноструктур и нанотехнологий, востребованные в исследовательских и образовательных центрах, а также на частных и госпредприятиях, как в России, так и за рубежом.

PCNSPA_2016_582402.jpg


ОФиСЕ
О кафедре
Новости и МероприятияИсследованияПоступление и Обучение

Как нас найти

Адрес: 199034 Санкт-Петербург, Биржевая линия, 14 

Лаборатории и кабинеты кафедры находятся на 3-м этаже. Кабинет профессоров Анатолия Федорова и Александра Баранова - 347.

Телефон: +7 (812) 457-17-80

Контакты
itmo_horiz_white_rus.jpg
Eng